The 43 countries and organisations participating in the operation and management of the System are shown on the map below.

The Participants include the 4 Parties to the Cospas-Sarsat International Programme Agreement (Canada, France, Russia and the USA), 27 Ground Segment Providers, 10 User States and 2 Organisations.


Map of Cospas-Sarsat Participants (shown in green)


Cospas-Sarsat cooperates actively with the International Maritime Organization (IMO), the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

In addition, the following professional and standardisation organisations are also invited to attend Cospas-Sarsat meetings: the International Chamber of Shipping (ICS); the International Radio Maritime Committee (CIRM); the International Federation of Air Line Pilots Associations (IFALPA); the Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics, (RTCA) (USA); the Radio Technical Commission for Maritime Services, (RTCM) (USA) and the European Organization for Civil Aviation Equipment (EUROCAE).

List of Cospas-Sarsat Participants

Cospas-Sarsat Participating Countries

Country: Agency

  • Algeria: Ministry of Defence, Search and Rescue Services

  • Argentina: Argentine Navy, Naval Communications, Satellite Emergency Alert Service (SASS)

  • Australia: Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA)

  • Brazil: Air Space Control Department (DECEA), Operations Sub-Department (SDOP)

  • Canada: National Search and Rescue Secretariat (NSS)

  • Chile: Search and Rescue Service of the Chilean Air Force

  • China (P.R. of): Maritime Safety Administration, Bureau of Harbour Superintendency

  • Cyprus: Larnaca Joint Rescue Co-ordination Centre (JRCC)

  • Denmark: Denmark Transport Authority, Aviation Department

  • Finland: Ministry of the Interior, Finnish Border Guard

  • France: National Space Centre (CNES)

  • Germany: Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure

  • Greece: Hellenic Ministry of Shipping, Maritime Affairs and the Aegean, Directorate of Operations

  • India: Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)

  • Indonesia: National SAR Agency of Indonesia (BASARNAS)

  • Italy: Department of Civil Protection

  • Japan: Japan Coast Guard

  • Korea (Rep. of): Korea Coast Guard

  • Malaysia: Malaysia Maritime Enforcement Agency (MMEA)
  • Netherlands (The): Netherlands Coastguard

  • New Zealand: Rescue Coordination Centre New Zealand (RCCNZ)

  • Nigeria: National Emergency Management Agency

  • Norway: Ministry of Justice

  • Pakistan: Space and Upper Atmosphere Research Commission (SUPARCO)

  • Peru: General Directorate of Captaincies and Coastguard

  • Poland: Civil Aviation Authority

  • Russian Federation: Federal State Unitary Enterprise Morsviazsputnik

  • Saudi Arabia: General Authority of Civil Aviation, Directorate of Air Traffic Services

  • Serbia: Civil Aviation Directorate of the Republic of Serbia

  • Singapore: Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore

  • South Africa: South African Maritime Safety Agency (SAMSA)

  • Spain: National Institute of Aerospace Engineering (INTA)

  • Sweden: Swedish Civil Contingencies Agency (MSB)

  • Switzerland: Federal Office for Civil Aviation, Safety Division

  • Thailand: Department of Civil Aviation

  • Tunisia: Ministry of Transport (DGAC)

  • Turkey: Ministry of Transport, Maritime Affairs and Communication

  • UAE: Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (TRA)

  • UK: Department for Transport, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

  • USA: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

  • Vietnam: Ministry of Transport, Vietnam Maritime Administration (VINAMARINE)

Cospas-Sarsat Participating Organizations

  • International Telecommunication Development Company (Chinese Taipei) (ITDC)
  •  Hong Kong, China: Hong Kong Marine Department